grief

In this past year, there have been a couple of unexpected deaths within my family and friends. One happened just this last weekend.

The hardest part of this for me is to stand here, at a distance, hurting, feeling, longing to help, longing to solve, longing to heal, longing to give, longing to care, and yet knowing there is nothing I can do to fill the void of someone lost to this world.

I think this is a common experience to many of us. It is overwhelming. There is no reparation for grief. It is a path that must be trodden. I cannot heal or repair a broken heart. But it is ok, ok to grieve, ok to cry, ok to ask why.

I saw your face in sharp relief
against a blurry past
I heard your voice sing such
my soul ached within
I saw your eyes meet mine
frank, caring, honest
I heard you laugh, enjoying life
the moment’s irony.

And yet
You are not there

Grief

haunting our steps
hunting our thoughts
stalking our memories
reminding of the void –
unfillable
a dark shadow
that encompasses our hearts
heavy

the ‘why you?’
and ‘If only….’

but you are lost to us
we cannot run
we cannot go back
we cannot hide

only Grief

_MG_7923

Leave a Reply

