Image

the pigeonhole

New Mexico cloudy sky

Do you ever come to the realization in conversation that the person you were talking to is pigeonholing you as a certain type of person, or as having limited knowledge on a certain subject?

I am interested in a topic, and may even have done a lot of thinking and even studying on it, I start to engage on the topic, and I find the person I’m looking at has a sort of glazed expression as he/she looks at me, and I know quite certainly that they aren’t taking in what I’m saying, because they have some sort of preconceived idea of what I do, who I am, what I know or don’t know, and whether my opinion on the subject matters or not.

I take this as a challenge to not do that to others. No matter what we think of a person, we should always keep an openness to what they are saying. Who knows, maybe they will share something pretty wonderful, enlighten us, or just share something that is very cool for them and therefore worth our time considering. I have found that a little bit of listening often reveals some pretty interesting people underneath, that I would have never known about if I’d passed over the person because of my preconceived notions.

 

One thought on “the pigeonhole

Leave a Reply

